As of Jan. 1, 2013, California drivers can display proof of insurance on their smartphones.
California has always required motorists to carry proof of liability insurance coverage, a requirement usually met with a carrier-issued insurance card. Now drivers have a choice of the two.
A driver who does not carry proof of insurance coverage -- either paper or electronic -- faces a fine of $100 to $200. Law enforcement in California can check an online database for current coverage.
Penalties for driving with no insurance coverage are much steeper and can include license suspension and seizure of the vehicle.
California requires $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, up to a total of $30,000 in injury coverage for each accident, plus $5,000 to cover damage to property.
Most drivers also purchase comprehensive and collision coverage, which are greatly affected by your address. Our Nosy Neighbor tool lets you compare rates for every ZIP code in California.