dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

I am moving to Alabama from Georgia. My current car insurance is in Georgia. How long do I have to change over my driver's license, title, registration? Is there a penalty if I'm late? Where do I go to do this? When I transfer my tags to Alabama, do I have to have changed my car insurance over from Georgia already?


A

Good luck on your move! Once you arrive in your new state of Alabama, you have 30 days to change over your driver's license, title, and registration.

When you register your car in Alabama you will want to have car insurance from this state on your vehicle, so yes you must have already changed over your policy from Georgia when going in to register your car.

The Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) says that if you have a valid driver's license from your previous state, you must come into their offices, and apply for an Alabama license within 30 days after becoming a resident of their state.

Alabama law (Section 40-12-262 of the Code of Alabama), says that that if you are the owner of a vehicle (non-commercial) and have valid registration from another state you have 30 days from the date the vehicle enters the state to register the vehicle with their Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

To register your vehicle in Alabama, you must first apply for an Alabama certificate of title through a designated agent of the Alabama Department of Revenue. After getting the required documentation, go to a County Title and Registration office where you will pay the necessary fees and taxes and be issued your Alabama tags.

You can get detailed title and registration process information by going to the Alabama MVD site. If you fail to register your vehicle in Alabama within 30 days from the date you entered the state, you will receive a penalty of $15, plus interest.

State laws mandate that your vehicle must be covered by at least Liability car insurance policy prior to registration. The minimum Liability auto insurance allowed in Alabama is 25/50/25, which is the same as what your current home state of Georgia requires.

The state of Alabama does not require proof of auto insurance to be shown when you go in to register your car. You will however sign a registration receipt affirming that the vehicle is properly insured by a car insurance company licensed to conduct business in Alabama. This is one reason that you need to change over your car insurance policy from Georgia to Alabama.

Another reason to change over your policy is that likely your Georgia insurance carrier will no longer want to cover your vehicle once you have moved out of state. Speak with your Georgia insurer to find out for how long they will extend coverage to you during your move.

Moving can be stressful, but shopping for low cost car insurance doesn't have to be. At CarInsurance.com we offer multiple company insurance rates and the ability to purchase online; we are ahead of other online insurance companies. Start your free auto insurance quote here to see how companies compete for your business.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "I am moving to Alabama from Georgia. My current car insurance is in Georgia. How long do I have to change over my driver's license, title, registration? Is there a penalty if I'm late? Where do I go to do this? When I transfer my tags to Alabama, do I have to have changed my car insurance over from Georgia already?"