Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

I am licensed to drive in Delaware. I received a two-point speeding citation in Maryland. Will it transfer to my Delaware driving record and receive points? If so, how long will those points stay on my driving record? Will it affect my insurance?


A

Yes, if you are convicted of the Maryland speeding offense, then it will go on your Delaware driving record and receive points. An out-of-state traffic offense can affect your car insurance rates just as much as an in-state traffic ticket.

Your home state of Delaware will find out about the Maryland speeding citation because both are members of an interstate agreement called the Driver License Compact (DLC).

With this agreement in place, if you are convicted of the Maryland speeding ticket (by paying the fine), then the Maryland courts are required to inform the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of your violation and conviction.

The Delaware DMV told us that they will not only place the Maryland speeding violation on your motor vehicle record (MVR), but also assign it points. The points assessed will be according to the Delaware points list, not Maryland's point's schedule.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]

In Delaware, the points assigned for speeding are:

  • 2 points for 1 to 9 mph over the posted limit.
  • 4 points for 10 to 14 mph over.
  • 5 points for 15 to 19 mph over.
  • 5 points for 20 or more mph over, plus it may result in additional actions from the state, including suspension.

For the first 12 months, from the date of violation, Delaware DMV points are assessed at their full value. Then the points are worth half their original point value for the next 12-month period.

Points continue to lose their value by half each year until they are completely gone from your MVR. The speeding violation itself, however, will stay on your Delaware driving record for 5 years.

The points on your license do not typically affect your rates; it's the violation that will. Auto insurance companies have their own rating systems, so you will need to find out from your insurer if this one out-of-state traffic violation will affect your car insurance rates.

If your rates do rise, see about taking a state-approved defense driving course that the Delaware Insurance Commissioner says can earn you a 10 percent discount of your auto insurance premium for three years. Also, if you take a refresher course toward the end of the third year, your discount can be boosted to 15 percent.

When shopping for auto insurance let CarInsurance.com help you get quick quotes. Even with violations on your driving record we can help you check car insurance prices and find you the best car insurance for your situation.


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
0 Responses to "I am licensed to drive in Delaware. I received a two-point speeding citation in Maryland. Will it transfer to my Delaware driving record and receive points? If so, how long will those points stay on my driving record? Will it affect my insurance?"