Yes, commercial vehicles in Florida are required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
A standard Florida commercial motor vehicle (CMV) insurance policy must include Personal Injury Protection, as well as Property Damage Liability, and Bodily Injury Liability coverage.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) told us that for tractor trailers, and other commercial vehicles of this nature, the following limits are required (per Florida Statute 627.7415):
- $50,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 pounds or more, but less than 35,000 pounds.
- $100,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 35,000 pounds or more, but less than 44,000 pounds.
- $300,000 per occurrence for a commercial motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 44,000 pounds or more.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage in the amount of $10,000.
The Florida HSMV noted that proof of insurance for CMVs must specify PIP coverage since it is required in addition to the other Liability insurance requirements. PIP is required regardless of the weight of the covered vehicle(s).
The minimum required amounts of Liability insurance coverage for CMVs in Florida are listed above as a Combined Single Limit (CSL). The FL HSMV does allow a Split Limit policy in lieu of the CSL policy, but only if each of the split limits meets or exceeds the amount of the required combined limits coverage.
If you have a commercial vehicle, it may also be subject to regulations of the United States Department of Transportation which call for even higher Liability limits.
Federal regulations (under Title 49 C.F.R. part 387, subpart A) say that all for-hire interstate carriers and carriers transporting hazardous materials with vehicles having a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more, must combined single limits for Liability of $750,000.
Vehicle used for livery services are an exception to the PIP rule. In Florida, taxicabs and limousines fall under their own category and are not required to carry PIP. They are required though to carry Bodily Injury Liability of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 of Property Damage Liability.
Even if PIP is not required by Florida for your specific vehicle, an insurance company selling you a Commercial Auto Policy may require you purchase it due to the way they have set up their rates with the state. Here at CarInsurance.com, PIP is quoted with all of our carriers that offer Florida Commercial Vehicle insurance policies.