Yes, you are correct, Louisiana law calls for vehicles of different gross vehicle weights to carry different car insurance Liability limits.
Personal autos, and other vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of under 20,000 pounds, have mandatory Liability car insurance coverages with limits of 15/30/25 in Louisiana. These limits stand for Bodily Injury Liability of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, plus $10,000 of Property Damage Liability.
Vehicles that have a gross vehicle weight or gross combined weight in excess of 20,000 pounds, typically commercial motor vehicles, are those that require higher Liability limits, per Louisiana law. The weight of the vehicle and their required car insurance coverages are as follow:
- Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 20,001 to 50,000 pounds must have insurance coverage of at least 25/50/25 or a single combined limit of no less than $75,000.
- Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight over 50,001 pounds must have insurance coverage of at least 100/300/25 or a combined single limit of $300,000.
Acceptable proof of insurance for commercial vehicles includes:
- Insurance policy or binder (minimum liability limits must be shown); or
- Individual I.D. card or Fleet I.D. card ; or
- Declaration page from the insurance policy (minimum liability limits must be shown); or
- Statement from insurance company or agent on letterhead stationery, signed by a representative of company/agent. The statement must include a full description of vehicle, including the VIN.
For number two and four above, the proof does not need to show your limits but must indicate that the coverage provided meets the minimum Liability insurance limits as prescribed by law.
There are a few exemptions from the above car insurance requirements. These include:
- Motor vehicles used primarily for exhibit or kept primarily for use in parades, exhibits, or shows.
- Lease bond mobile rig haulers, as defined by law.
- Agriculture and forest product vehicles.
- Vehicles owned by the United States, the State of Louisiana, or any political subdivision of this state, or any municipality therein.
- Vehicles owned by a bona fide organized public volunteer fire department.
- Motor vehicles subject to the jurisdiction of the Louisiana Public Service Commission (PSC).
- City-owned buses.
The Louisiana's Office of Motor Vehicles says that your car or commercial insurance policy should be written with a company authorized to do business in Louisiana.