Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

What is the penalty for driving in Louisiana without a current insurance card? I have insurance, but did not have a current card with me when I was pulled over for speeding (doing 63 in a 45). Will this make my insurance go up? I live in Texas.


A

In Louisiana, the penalty for driving without proof of insurance, when your vehicle is registered out of state, is typically a fine. The speeding ticket may affect your rates, but it unlikely the insurance citation will, especially if you are able to get it dismissed.

If your vehicle was registered in Louisiana, you would not only have a fine to pay for not carrying your proof of insurance with you, but the police could have also impounded your vehicle and/or take away its license plates.

Louisiana Revised Statutes (LRS) 32:863.1 Section I (2), says that if you are issued a notice of noncompliance for car insurance, you have 30 working days from the date the ticket was issued to present to the office of motor vehicles proof that insurance coverage was in effect at the time. If you fail to do so, then a fine is imposed by the court.

You should contact the court listed on your citation to see if it is possible to dismiss the no proof of insurance portion of your ticket, if you can show that you did actually have valid car insurance on it at the time of the traffic stop. The court should be able to tell you what proof you need and where to bring it to try and dismiss the no insurance citation.

If you are unable to get the ticket dismissed, the law says the fine for a first-time offense is $50; however, from the fine lists we have seen it ends up being around $200 with court costs, etc. We also saw that a speeding ticket for 18 mph over tends to run around $185.

Whatever offenses you are convicted of in Louisiana will be reported to Texas and placed on your driving record there. It will depend upon the rating system of your Texas car insurance company if the Louisiana speeding ticket or insurance offense (if not dismissed) will raise your rates. 

If your rates go up due to your Louisiana tickets, or you are just ready to shop around for cheaper insurance rates, come to CarInsurance.com.

We offer multiple company insurance rates and the ability to purchase from one place; we are ahead of other online insurance companies. Start your free auto insurance quote here to see how companies compete for your business.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "What is the penalty for driving in Louisiana without a current insurance card? I have insurance, but did not have a current card with me when I was pulled over for speeding (doing 63 in a 45). Will this make my insurance go up? I live in Texas."