If the person at-fault was driving without insurance, then the individual should be cited for this offense and would have to pay personally for the damages he has caused.
The penalties for driving without car insurance in North Carolina can include loss of your registration/license plate, fines, and jail time. If at-fault in an accident, you may also have your driver's license suspended.
North Carolina law requires that your car insurance policy should be continuously in force while your car is registered and being operated on its roadways. North Carolina Statutes (Section 20‑313) tell us that operation of motor vehicles without financial responsibility is a Class 1 misdemeanor.
The punishment for a Class 1 misdemeanor (per NC Statute 15A-1340.23) is a fine that is decided at the discretion of the court and the possibility of jail time. The maximum jail time is 45 days if you have no prior convictions, but up to 120 days if you have been convicted five or more times of the offense.
We have read that the fine generally ranges anywhere from $400 to $800 for a person convicted of a first offense of driving without insurance, and it's three points on his motor vehicle record.
If you are found driving without insurance and involved in an accident, the penalties can be harsher, including the suspension of your driver's license. You also would be required to pay for the damages, either to the other party personally or to their insurance company if it paid claims related to the accident.
You can get more information on the penalties by reading through North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 20, Article 9A, the Motor Vehicle Safety and Financial Responsibility Act. If you were cited for driving without insurance and causing an accident, contact the court listed on your citation for penalty information.
If you were hit by an uninsured motorist, you can put a claim through your collision coverage for your car's damage and your insurance company will go after the at-fault party for the cost of the repairs. If you are without collision coverage, then you will need to go after the at-fault driver personally to pay for your damages.
When shopping for auto insurance, let CarInsurance.com help you get quick quotes. Even if you have had a lapse in coverage we can help you check car insurance prices and find you the best car insurance for your situation.