Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

How long does a violation stay on your driving record in California?


A

In California, most minor traffic offense convictions will remain on your record for three years from the violation date and count as one point. More serious traffic offenses, such as hit and run and reckless driving, will remain on your record for seven years from the violation date and count as two points.

Accidents are reported for three years from the accident date. If you are found to be at fault, the accident normally counts as one point.

Any DUI offense on your record will appear for 10 years from the violation date.

In 2007, California extended the reporting period for DUI offenses from seven to 10 years for all public requestors, including insurance companies. The law allows insurance companies access to the driving record information to properly apply the new provisions of the Insurance Code established under Senate Bill 597 (2005), to determine a customer's eligibility for a good driver discount. Based on these laws, drivers with a DUI violation occurring within the past 10 years are not entitled to receive a good driver discount.

Actions taken against your driving privilege, such as a suspension or revocation due to a DUI or a failure to provide proof of financial responsibility, will be reported for three years from the proof termination date or the reinstatement date, whichever is earlier.

A Failure To Appear for DUI offenses will be reported for 10 years from the violation date. All other Failure To Appears and Failure to Pay fines will be reported for five years from the violation date.  For more information on your California driving record, contact the state's Department of Motor Vehicles directly.

You can get a California auto insurance quote here to see how these violations may affect your rate.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
15 Responses to "How long does a violation stay on your driving record in California?"