An SR-22 is a form that must be filed by your insurance company stating that auto liability insurance (bodily injury liability and property damage liability) is in effect for a particular individual. The bodily injury liability limits must be at least $10,000/$20,000, and the property damage liability limit must be at least $10,000 in the state of Florida.
SR-22 requirements in Florida stipulate that SR-22 insurance is required when an individual was in an accident or was convicted of a traffic offense and was unable to show financial responsibility. Florida car insurance laws require you to obtain the SR-22 and then carry its associated necessary liability coverages for three years.
The FR-44 is similar to the SR-22 financial responsibility certificate that one must file with the state after certain convictions though the FR-44 is required after DUI convictions.
The FL FR-44 has higher limits in the amount of 100/300/50. A driver must have these new required liability limits (instead of the previously lower limits of 10/20/10) in place on the date of the alcohol related offense or will have to pay a reinstatement fee. The reinstatement fee is $150, $250 or $500 dollars.
Both the SR-22 and FR-44 in Florida are typically required for three years.