The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles matches a registration to data it receives from every insurance company. If your vehicle is not regsitered as having insurance you should be notified, but it does not always occur.
If you fail to keep insurance on your vehicle that is registered in Florida, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.
If your driving privileges are suspended because you are not properly insured there is a penalty to reinstate your license. A reinstatement fee of $150 and up to $500, for subsequent violations, must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.