Driving without insurance in Hawaii typically results in heavy fines such as $1000 for the first offence and up to $3000 for the 2nd offense and continuing to go up for any subsequent offense. Other penalties can include suspension of your driver's license and imprisonment. If the last citation was due to an accident the penalties are likely to be quite stiff.
As you know the mandatory amount of insurance on a car in HI is $20,000/$40,000 bodily injury liability and $10,000 for property damage liability plus PIP of $10,000. If you do not have this insurance on your vehicle you are required to surrender the registration certificate and license plates and will not be able to drive the vehicle.
To find out what penalties you are likely to get for your latest offense contact the number listed on your citation or even perhaps your local DMV. Get Hawaii aarp auto insurance and start your quote now.