Virginia requires minimum auto insurance coverage of 25/50/20 for bodily injury/death of one person $25,000, bodily injury/death of two or more persons $50,000 and property damage $20,000. When purchasing license plates in VA you must certify that the vehicle is covered by these insurance requirements or pay the uninsured motor vehicle (UMV) fee.
VA vehicle owners who are uninsured or have not paid the UMV fee will have their driving and vehicle registration privileges suspended. To be reinstated the motorist must pay a $500 statutory fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for 3 years and pay a reinstatement fee.
Being ticketed for driving without insurance will result in fines, suspension of your driver's license, and cancellation of the registration on all vehicles that you own or co-own. To find out the amount of your fine, call the court listed on the citation since the amount can vary depending on the jurisdiction in which you received the citation. Some Virginia courts have a system in which you can pay the fine online.
To get Virginia auto insurance to cover your vehicle(s) start now with a cheap car insurance quote.