The penalties that will be placed on your driving permit or driving record will vary depending on what state your learner's permit is in and the accident took place. Each state has their own rules and laws for this sort of incident.
For instance, if you are ticketed for an accident, or another minor traffic offense, in New York your permit would be suspended for 60 days. If you were subsequently found guilty of two other moving violations during a second permit probation period, you license/permit would be revoked for at least 6 months.
In California if you have a permit and have one at-fault accident within 12 months you will get a warning letter from the DMV. If you are involved in a second at-fault collision within 12 months, you will not be allowed to drive for 30 days. A third at-fault accident within 12 months will result in your permit being suspended for 6 months and you being placed on probation for 1 year.
To find out what will happen with your permit after being involved in an accident, contact your state's department of motor vehicles.