Starting in 2004, New Jersey imposed a new motor vehicle surcharge upon motorists who are convicted of "unsafe driving." This conviction provides for fines, but specifies that no motor vehicle points are to be assessed until after a motorist is convicted of a third unsafe driving offense.
The new court-imposed surcharge consists of a one-time $250 surcharge in addition to court costs and other applicable moving violation fines. First offense fines are usually not less than $50 or more than $150.
If your insurance rates will be affected by these offenses, will depend upon your insurance company's rating system. The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance (DOBI) allows insurers to set up rating tiers. Under these tier systems, drivers are assigned to different rating tiers according to their driving history and a variety of other risk factors.
To find out if your insurance company's tier system will raise your rates due to these violations on your driving record, ask your agent or contact the NJ DOBI since insurer's rating tiers must be filed with this state agency.