Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

How long do you have to carry SR22 insurance in the state of Mississippi after a DUI conviction?


A

A DUI conviction in Mississippi can result in fines, jail time, mandatory participation in alcohol education programs and much more in a court case. As well the MS Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend the person's license for a period of time.

Once a person is convicted of driving under the influence in Mississippi, the Department of Public Safety requires proof of financial responsibility in the form of a SR-22 auto insurance policy. The SR-22 must be maintained for a period of 3 years.

Typically after the 3 year the DUI conviction is removed from the driver's record for insurance purposes. However, the DUI will remain on the person's driving history for 5 years for court and punishment purposes.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
0 Responses to "How long do you have to carry SR22 insurance in the state of Mississippi after a DUI conviction?"