Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753


See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.


What is the penalty in Ohio for driving without insurance? I live in Kentucky?


In Ohio it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) proof. If you receive a traffic ticket indicating that proof of FR was not produced, you must submit proof to the traffic violations bureau along with payment of a fine and costs for the traffic citation. If instead you are required to appear in court you must submit proof of FR to the court.

Failure to provide proof of financial responsibility in OH will result in the following civil penalties by the Register of Motor Vehicles:

  • Lose driving privileges for a minimum of 90 days and up to 2 years;
  • License plates and vehicle registration suspension;
  • License plate reinstatement fees of $125 for first violation;
  • Require to file with the OH BMV a SR-22 or bond to continuously maintain proof of financial responsibility for a minimum of 3 years up to 5 years from the date of the suspension the driver's license;
  • Vehicle immobilization and confiscation of plates for 30 to 60 days if the driver violates the suspension.

Since you live in Kentucky, your KY license will be suspended if Ohio suspends it due to this violation. Both Ohio and Kentucky are part of the Drivers License Compact (DLC), meaning that the two states DMVs share violation information. The DLC states that when a state suspends the license of a driver who is from out of state, the state where the motorist received a license to drive will also suspend their license.

Getting insurance as soon as possible might help your case in Ohio. So start now getting a free car insurance quote for Kentucky.


Add Comment

Leave a Comment
1 Responses to "What is the penalty in Ohio for driving without insurance? I live in Kentucky?"
  1. Anonymous

    Precise and easy to understand