Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

When did the surcharge law go into effect in the state of Texas? How many years do you have to pay the surcharge?


A

The Texas Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) went into affect September 1, 2003. Under this program the TX Department of Public Safety (DPS) has two methods of assessing surcharges.

Under the Points System Surcharge, points are assessed to moving violations classified by TX as class C misdemeanors. The DPS will assess a surcharge when the driver accumulates a total of 6 points or more on their driving record in a 3 year period. The driver must pay a $100 surcharge for the first 6 points and $25 for each additional point.

The DPS will do an annual assessment on the anniversary date of the original surcharge notice. This includes reviewing the driver's history and determining if the driver still meets surcharge requirement criteria. If the record reflects the driver had 6 or more points in the previous 36 months, then the driver must pay the surcharge again.

Conviction Based Surcharges are a second type. Under this system, drivers who receive a conviction for a major offense (i.e. DWI) will pay an annual surcharge for a period of 3 years from the date of the conviction. The amount of the surcharge will be determined by the offense committed - i.e. No Driver License is $100 while DWI 0.16 or greater is $2,000.

For a free car insurance quote for Dallas, or any other area of Texas, you can start here with us.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "When did the surcharge law go into effect in the state of Texas? How many years do you have to pay the surcharge?"