In 2003, Michigan adopted an .08 BAC standard for drunk driving offenses. Those under the influence of alcohol can be charged with drunk driving or impaired driving. Convicted drunk drivers will be subject to a $1000 penalty for 2 years according to the driver responsibility program.
A first time offender convicted of drunk driving (DWI) in MI faces up to 93 days in jail, up to a $500 fine, up to 360 hours of community service, 6 points on a driver's license, up to 180 days with a suspended license, with a suspended license possible after 30 days.
In Michigan, alcohol violations remain on your record for a minimum of 10 years. As for insurance rates, typically they will be affected for at least 3 years after you have been convicted of a DUI/DWI.
According to the Michigan Financial and Insurance services Insurance Eligibility fact sheet insurance companies can turn you down for auto insurance if within the past 3 years you have been found guilty of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you rates go up too much or you have trouble finding insurance because of being convicted of a DWI in Michigan get a car insurance quote here.