Georgia's "Move Over" law is title 40-6-16 of the Georgia Code and was passed in July of 2003, so it has been in force for a few years now.This law is meant to keep officers and traffic violators safe from crashes with passing cars.
The Move Over law requires drivers to move over one lane when possible if an emergency vehicle is stopped on the side of the highway.If traffic is too congested for the motorists to move over safely, the law requires drivers to slow down below the posted speed limit and be prepared to stop.
From the information I found on this law, it should be punishable by a fine of not more than $500.So either the fine amount has gone up since the law was put into place or the amount above $500 you are to pay is for additional fees.
The GA Governor's Office of Highway Safety and GA DOT have tried to alert drivers on Georgia highways of this law through brochures and informational road signs.Since you were not aware of this law though, you might try pleading your case in court and see if the judge will lower your fine or allow you to take a defensive driving class in lieu of the violation being put on your record.
If the violation is put on your GA driving record, it will depend upon your insurance company's rating system if it will affect your rates.If your rates do go up due to this traffic violation, contact us for a car insurance comparison quote.