If Florida points have been taken away, or not placed on your driving record due to perhaps taking a traffic school, than they should remain off of your FL driver's license and driving record. Points that are placed on your license due to traffic violations stay on your record and are counted against you for 3 years for insurance purposes.
The points can continue on your record beyond those 3 years for the state to impose other penalties though. If you accumulate too many points within a certain time period, your license can be suspended or revoked.
A Florida driver's license is automatically suspended for 30 days if you receive 12 points within 12 months. It is a 3 month suspension for 18 points within 18 months and a 1 year suspension for being assessed 24 points within 36 months.
Beyond this 3 year period if you accumulate 3 major offenses or 15 minor offenses for which you receive points for within a 5 year period, your Florida license can be revoked. If you have amassed this amount of points in and offenses within 5 years you are found by the FL Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) to be a habitual traffic offender (HTO).
If you have accrued Florida violation points on your FL driving record due to traffic offenses and your insurance rates have gone up to do it, start getting automobile insurance comparison quotes here.