Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753


See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.


Do I need insurance to register my vehicle in Florida? Do I need a driver's license to get insurance?


Yes, you need insurance to register a car in Florida. When registering a vehicle in Florida you need to submit the original title and proof of Florida car insurance to the local county tax collector or license plate agency. Florida insurance means that the policy has been issued in Florida by an insurance company licensed by the Florida Department of Insurance, the insurance regulator of the state, to do business in FL.

It sometimes feels like a catch-22 with some carriers. You need a registration to get insurance but you need auto insurance to get a registration. CarInsurance.com has carriers available to solve this problem.

Florida's required minimum insurance coverage is $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate. If you have been involved in an auto accident, or convicted or certain other offenses, you may be required to also purchase Bodily Injury Liability coverage (BIL). The minimum limits for BIL are $10,000 Bodily Injury one person, $20,000 maximum Bodily Injury for one accident.

Yes, normally you will need a driver's license in order to obtain car insurance, but some car insurance companies will allow you to get insurance with the understanding that you will provide a valid license within 30 days. Without a license an insurance company does not have a driving history to rate you on. If when you are buying auto insurance you have a permit, foreign license or suspended license, most insurance companies will require to you to obtain a full valid state license within a short period of time, typically 30 days, to keep your policy in effect.

If you are unable to obtain a driver's license then there are automobile insurance companies that will work with you by excluding you as a driver from the car insurance policy but will require that you have someone with a valid driver's license on the policy as the primary driver. This person is who would drive you around in your vehicle and it is their motor vehicle record that the car insurance company will pull and rate the policy on.

To get a free car insurance quote for Miami, Orlando or elsewhere in Florida, come to CarInsurance.com. Let us help you find the inexpensive car insurance coverage that you need.


Add Comment

Leave a Comment
2 Responses to "Do I need insurance to register my vehicle in Florida? Do I need a driver's license to get insurance?"
  1. Anonymous

    I think you are wrong about needing a drivers lic. in FL to ins. a car.As I have had an insured car in FL without a Dr.Lic.Agreed some companies will not insure you but some will and unless they have changed the law Ins Co. are not allowed to refuse you.

  2. Anonymous

    I have a holiday home in Florida and a UK driving licence and would like to get a Florida licence but current laws are that licences are only valid for the length of my visa waiver (90 days) which makes the whole exercise pointless!