Driving is a privilege in all states, including New Jersey. NJ Statute 39:3-10 states that no person shall drive a motor vehicle on a public roadway without possessing a valid permit, driving privilege car, provisional or basic driver's license.
If you are driving without a valid license in NJ, you may be charged with driving without a license. This offense can bring a penalty of over $200 in fines and court costs, plus the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission can refuse to issue a license to operate a motor vehicle to the person for a period of 180 days (6 months) after the date of the conviction.
If your license had previously been suspended and you are found driving you can get up to a $500 fine and up to 6 additional months of your license suspension. This is for a first offense. If it is your second offense the fine is $750 and up to 5 days of jail and up to 6 months additional license suspension.
If you are involved in an auto accident while driving without a valid license there are additional penalties. These penalties can include a 45 day jail sentence. There are also surcharges you may be assessed by the MVC. For driving without a license it is $100 while if you are driving with a suspended license this fee is $250. You may see more surcharges if involved in an accident that causes property damages or injury.
For more information regarding penalties for being in an accident while driving without a valid license, contact the NJ MVC.