The penalty in California for driving without a license typically includes not only a fine and court fees but the towing and impoundment of the vehicle the unlicensed driver was operating. If you have had a prior conviction for driving as an unlicensed motorist in California, the state may be able to take the vehicle away from you as forfeiture.
If you are licensed, but were driving with a suspended or revoked license, the penalties can include getting the suspension or revocation time lengthened fines and or imprisonment.
California Vehicle Code Sections 14600 - 14611 discusses the laws regarding licensing in CA. VC 14601 mentions that upon the first conviction of driving with a suspended license there could be county jail time of not less than 5 days or more than 6 months and a fine of not less than $300 or more than $1000.
Vehicle Code Section 12500 says driving without a valid license is a misdemeanor in California, and the punishment for violating Vehicle Code 12500 is usually handled by probation, time in county jail, and fines of up to $1000 plus surcharges.
That is what the law says, but lawyers have indicated that it is typically handled with a fine only. The scheduled fine for the infraction is $298, and for the misdemeanor it is $380. For a first offense, you should get a license and insurance before you have to show up in court. Many prosecutors will reduce the charge to an infraction or dismiss the charge if get a license and insurance before the court hearing.
Typically the country court of the jurisdiction you were cited in will assign the fine for your citation. To get information on traffic tickets you may try going to this self help CA court site - http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/selfhelp/traffic/info.htm.