Driving without insurance and without a valid license are both against the law in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania laws under the PA vehicle code, chapter 17, state that every motor vehicle that is required to be registered should be covered by financial responsibility (FR). Most motorists choose to get FR in the way of car insurance.
The penalties for not having car insurance, or another form of FR, can include:
- A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
- A three month suspension of your driver's license
- $50 restoration fee to restore your driver's license
- A three month suspension of your vehicle registration
- $50 restoration fee to restore your vehicle registration
- That the vehicle may not be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended.
In Pennsylvania, no person may drive any motor vehicle upon a highway or public property without a driver's license valid under the PA Motor Vehicle Code, chapter 15. If a person drives without a valid license in Pennsylvania, they are guilty of a summary offense and upon conviction shall be sentenced to pay a fine of $200.
Since you were driving without a valid license and without the required state insurance you will likely received some of the penalties above if you were cited by the responding law enforcement officer. There might be other penalties as well since you were involved in an accident and if a death occurred.
If you were not at fault it may help but you should check with the PA Driver and Vehicles Services for information on what may happen to you and decide if you will need legal counsel on the situation.