dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

I have NC driving license, I got speeding ticket in VA going in 68mph at 55mph speed limit. Do I get points in NC? Does it affect my driving record and insurance?


A

North Carolina and Virginia both take part in the Drivers License Compact (DLC) which requires member states to exchange traffic violation information back to the state in which the motorist receiving the ticket is licensed.

The NC Division of Motor Vehicles should be informed of this ticket by the Virginia courts or the VA Department of Motor Vehicles after you pay the fine and are convicted of the offense.

The motor vehicle laws of NC allow for convictions occurring outside of North Carolina to be recorded on your driving record by the NC Division of Motor Vehicles. We have read that points are only assigned for convictions occurring in state. Since laws can be changed or updated check with the NC DMV to find out for certain if points can or will be assigned for your VA 13 mph over the speed limit citation.

Even if points are not assigned to this out of state speeding violation, the infraction will be placed on your NC driving record. Once this traffic ticket is on your motor vehicle record, your insurance will be able to see it next time they pull your driving history. At that point, depending upon your insurance provider's rating system; it could affect your insurance premiums.

To find out how or if traffic tickets such as this will affect your auto insurance premiums, contact your insurance company and ask them about their rating system. You can also contact the North Carolina's insurance regulatory body, the NC Department of Insurance, with whom insurance companies must file their rates with.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
1 Responses to "I have NC driving license, I got speeding ticket in VA going in 68mph at 55mph speed limit. Do I get points in NC? Does it affect my driving record and insurance?"
  1. Anonymous

    A 5 over in a 55MPH zone, would expire from my North Carolina drivers license after how many years?

      Reply»