The penalty for driving with an expired license will depend upon what your state laws are regarding an expired license. The penalty will probably be more severe if the license had been expired for a long period of time.
In some states if your driver's license has been expired less than 30 days you can get the citation dismissed if you get your licensed renewed before court. Some states require this be done within 10 days of being cited. If this is an option for you then you will need to get your license renewed and show proof to the court. There will likely still be court costs or other applicable fees to pay.
Florida statute 322.065 states that driver's license expired for 4 months or less and who drives a motor vehicle upon the highways of the state of FL is guilty of an infraction and subject to penalties. It does not however list the penalties so they are likely placed upon you by the court.
Florida statutes do allow that if a person is cited for driving with an expired license but can show a driver's license issued and that was valid at the time of the citation then the clerk of the court may dismiss the case and may assess a dismissal fee of $7.50.
In Tennessee there are no grace periods, when your license expires, you are no longer entitled to drive, and will be subject to the same penalties as someone who has never been licensed. In TN driving without being licensed is a class B misdemeanor whose penalty is a fine up to $500 and/or 6 months in jail.
In Connecticut operating a vehicle after license expires (CGS 14-41) is a $75 if within 60 days of expiration. After 60 days it is the same penalties as if the person was operating without a license. The fine for this is higher and if it is not your first offense than jail time or community service could be required.
Also in many states if your license has been expired for a long length of time you are required to be re-tested by the state before your license will be renewed. To find out for certain what penalties you could be facing try contacting a lawyer as the judge suggested. Your local department of motor vehicles may also be able to give you information on this violation and its penalties.