Connecticut state law requires minimum Bodily Injury Liability coverage of $20,000 per injured person up to a total of $40,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $10,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 20/40/10 coverage.
Connecticut state law requires a minimum UnInsured/UnderInsured Motorist coverage of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured driver.
Connecticut law requires that all registered motor vehicles have liability insurance maintained at all times. When you register or renew a vehicle registration, you must certify insurance coverage. Your signature attests that minimum vehicle liability insurance will be maintained throughout the registration period and the vehicle will not be driven without insurance. Action must be taken by the DMV if this statement is not honored.
Whenever insurance coverage is cancelled, the CT DMV is notified by the insurance company and the registrant is mailed a Warning Notice offering the opportunity to enter into a consent agreement, obtain insurance, and pay a fine of $200.
Failure to comply with the warning notice will result in the mailing of a Suspension Notice. At that time, a hearing may be requested. An adverse decision following an administrative hearing will result in suspension of registration and loss of all privileges to renew or register ANY motor vehicle.
So your registration may be suspended and not just expired as you think. To rectify the penalties from your insurance situation once your registration has been suspended you must pay an uninsured motorist penalty for each lapse of insurance of $200.00 and provide proof of insurance. Upon receipt of the above, your registration suspension should be rescinded. Normally your current registration would then be valid but if it is expired you would not have to pay the renewal fee.
The CT DMV notes that to avoid penalties return your marker plates and registration immediately to any DMV office and obtain a receipt when you cancel your insurance or sell or transfer ownership of your vehicle.
As for your expired registration, Connecticut General Statute section 14-12 states that a person commits an infraction if valid registration is not on a vehicle and it is driven on a public road. Failure to renew within 30 days receives a fine but operator's license shall not be affected. CGS 14-215 lists another fine that you may also face for operation of a vehicle when registration or license is refused, suspended or revoked.
If your registration is suspended on your vehicle that you are trying to sell, as it likely is due to it being uninsured, it may cause problems for anyone that buys it. It would appear that you would need to get the registration and insurance issues cleared up so that the buyer will not have problems trying to register the vehicle once they purchase it from you.