Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

Do you have any fees for cancellation? If so how much? I want to buy 6 month insurance for now.


A

Cancellation fees can differ depending upon the insurance company which your policy is through and state laws. Typically, there is no fee for cancellation except if it is cancelled at the insured's request; at that point it is typically a short rate cancellation.

Basically, if the policyholder requests the cancellation of the policy he or she will lose 10% of the unused premium.

Here is an explanation of short rate cancellation that may help you understand better:
When the policy is terminated prior to the expiration date at the policyholder's request the earned premium charged would be more than the pro-rata earned premium. Generally, the return premium would be approximately 90 percent of the pro-rata return premium. However, the company may also establish its own short-rate schedule.

Another explanation of short rate cancellation that is a little more in-depth:
A policy termination in which the refunded premium is not proportional to the amount of time remaining in the policy period due to the fixed expenses incurred by the company. The insured will generally pay more for each day of coverage than if the policy had remained in force throughout the entire policy period.

Normally the cancellation of an auto insurance policy and the type of fee associated with it is regulated by each state and its own statute or laws so you should check with your state's insurance regulator to find out what cancellation fees insurance companies may be allowed to charge.

For example in Florida the FL Department of Financial Services states that a policyholder may cancel their policy at any time following the first 60 days (except under certain exceptions listed below) after its effective date by notifying your company in writing. If they do so, the insurance company may charge the driver a 10 percent penalty on their returned premium.

In Florida you cannot cancel your policy during the first 60 days unless you can provide proof of the following:

  • the vehicle is totally destroyed,
  • you sold the vehicle or
  • you obtained coverage with another company

If you are ready to purchase a 6 month policy for your vehicle, then start here with us to get an affordable insurance quote.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "Do you have any fees for cancellation? If so how much? I want to buy 6 month insurance for now."