The penalties, such as fine and points on your license, will vary depending upon the state in which you are licensed and received the speeding ticket in.
For example in 2004 Pennsylvania passed a bill that raised fines and penalties for speeding in school zones. The new fines and penalties increase the maximum traffic fine for speeding in a school zone to $500 and three driver license points for a first offense in PA.
For a second offense, drivers would face a $500 fine, three driver license points and a 60-day license suspension. Before this PA state law passed, the maximum fine for speeding in a school zone was $35 (plus other associated costs) plus $2 for every mile over 20 mph.
In Georgia, exceeding the speed limit by more than ten miles per hour in a properly marked school zone within one hour before, during, or within one hour after the normal hours of school operation is 6 points. The fine is not mentioned.
In many States the fine is doubled if you are ticketed for speeding within a school zone. To find out for certain what your fine, points and potential other penalties will be for your speeding citation, contact the court listed on the ticket. Your state's Department of Motor Vehicles may also be able to give you information on the points that will be placed on your license.