The length of time a DUI or any driving under the influence violation stays on your driving record will depend upon your state's laws. It can be a lifetime down to just a few years.
For example in Alaska a DUI stays on your driving record forever. In New Hampshire the DWI record retention and DWI offense enhancement look-back period if for at least 10 years. A DUI in California will also stay on your California driving record for 10 years.
To find out how long your state will keep a DUI on your driving record check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles.
The insurance premium rate increase will probably take place at your next renewal period when your insurance company checks your motor vehicle record (MVR) and sees this serious (major) offense listed. The amount of time for the increased premium will again depend upon state laws or the insurance companies own rating guidelines. In general it can affect you for 3, 5 or 7 years typically or as long as the violation is on your DMV record if state insurance laws allow it.
With a DUI conviction insurance rates tend to increase quite a bit and you will likely now be classified as a high risk driver. Colorado's DOT notes that your auto insurance (if it's not canceled) could go up 30 % on average. The amount of the premium increase will depend upon your insurance company's rating system. If your insurance does increase to an unmanageable amount, you can click here to get an auto insurance quote.