Oklahoma and Texas are both members of the Drivers License Compact meaning that the Texas courts will advise the Oklahoma DMV of your speeding ticket if you are convicted of it.
In Texas deferred adjudication is a type of probation that is only available after a plea of guilty or no contest. Once a defendant pleads guilty or no contest, the judge can postpone a finding of guilt and place the defendant on deferred adjudication. As long as the defendant follows the terms and conditions of the deferred adjudication, at the end of the probationary period, their ticket will be dismissed.
If the defendant violates the terms or conditions of the deferred adjudication, the probation can be revokes and if that happens, then the conviction does appear on the defendant's driving record or criminal record.
You would need to check with the Texas clerk of the court to find out if this speeding violation for 11 mph over the limit would still be shared with Oklahoma or not if you use deferred adjudication. If the ticket is shared with Oklahoma and it is put on your OK driving record then you insurance company would see it the next time they pulled your motor vehicle record (MVR).
Depending upon your insurance carrier's rating system the speeding ticket could affect your rates. Being your first ticket it may not change your premiums but this really is up to your insurance company so if you find out that this ticket will be listed on your driving record contact your insurance agent to get information on your insurance provider's rating system.
If you do find out that the Texas speeding ticket will affect your rates, shop around for other Oklahoma auto insurance here with us.
Here is more information we found on deferred adjudication, also known as deferred disposition. According to the Arlington, TX Municipal courts you are not eligible for Deferred Adjudication if any of the following apply:
- You have been approved for Deferred Adjudication within the past 12 months;
- You were speeding 31 mph or more over the speed limit.
- You were speeding 16 mph or more over the speed limit in a school zone.
- You received a ticket for not having current liability insurance and you were involved in an accident.
- You received a ticket for not having current vehicle liability insurance and you do not provide a copy of current vehicle liability insurance.
While the Irving, TX municipal court states that the following are the standard eligibility requirements for deferred adjudication:
- You must not have been cited with speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.
- You must not have had deferred disposition in any court within one (1) year preceding the date of offense on your current citation.
- You will NOT be eligible for deferred disposition if you hold a commercial driver's license, regardless of whether you were in a commercial vehicle or personal vehicle or car.
- Deferred disposition can only be approved after a plea of guilty or no contest is entered with the court. This plea can be entered on the deferred disposition affidavit that will be provided to you by the court.
- In addition, you must pay the fine amount and applicable fees in full after your request is approved.
- If the citation was issued on, or after, September 1, 2005 for a moving traffic violation, completion of a six hour Defensive Driving Course is required if you are under 25 years of age on the date of the offense.
- You must not be convicted of any other violations of the law which occur during the deferment period.
- If the above conditions are not met, the judgment of guilty will become final, and you will have to pay the fine in full.