The state of Michigan requires no-fault insurance on every registered car. It is a misdemeanor to drive your car or let your car be driven without at least the basic no-fault auto coverage. If you are convicted of driving without the mandatory MI car insurance, you may be fined up to $500, put in jail for a year or both.
If you are unable to provide proof of insurance, thus driving without insurance, you may be found guilty of a civil infraction. The court may order your license suspended for 30 days or until you can show proof of no-fault coverage on your vehicle.
Drivers who fail to provide proof of insurance to the court within will also be responsible for paying a Driver Responsibility Fee of $500 or $200 for two consecutive years. The second year fee may not be paid in advance. The Driver Responsibility law does not provide for an appeal of the fee.
If you were driving a vehicle without insurance and were at-fault in an accident, the injured party may file a suit against you, uninsured motorist in court for damages. The court may award a judgment for damages to the injured party against the uninsured motorist. If you cannot pay the judgment, your driver license will be suspended until the judgment is paid in full.
The Michigan statute dealing with leaving the scene of a property damage accident is 257.618. Here it states that the driver of a vehicle who knows or who has reason to believe that he has been involved in an accident on public or private property resulting in damage to a vehicle should immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident and give his or her name and address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is operating, including the name and address of the owner, to a police officer, the individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the vehicle with which he or she has collided.
Or the person may immediately report the accident to the nearest or most convenient police agency or officer to fulfill the requirements of state statutes if there is a reasonable and honest belief that remaining at the scene will result in further harm.
If an individual violates these state statute requirements and the accident results in damage to a vehicle operated by or attended by any individual, the individual is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both. In Michigan it is also 6 points on your driving record for failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.
So for both driving without insurance and leaving the scene of the accident (hit and run) you may be facing jail time as a penalty. To get insurance on your vehicle, follow this link for a Michigan car insurance quote.