In Kentucky, your driver's license record is maintained by the Transportation Cabinet, Division of Driver Licensing. This agency keeps track of all traffic citations, accidents, suspensions, reinstatements, and assignments to traffic school. They alone have control of your driving file. Any questions concerning licensing qualifications or your driving record should be directed to that agency.
The KY driver's manual states that convictions of violations remain a part of your driver's record for a period of five (5) years for an operator's license and ten (10) years for a commercial driver's license. It does not specifically mention DUIs here though so you may want to contact the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet to see if this offense is also on your driving record for 5 years or more.
As you may be aware, in Kentucky for your first DUI offense conviction penalties include:
- $200 - 500 Fine
- 2 to 30 Days in Jail*
- 90 Day Alcohol or Substance Abuse Program
- 30 to 120 Day License Suspension
- Possible 48 Hours - 30 Days Community Labor
*If aggravating circumstances present then penalties also include 4 days imprisonment.
Aggravating Circumstances (which result in higher minimum jail time) include:
- Over 30 mph over speed limit
- Wrong way on limited access highway
- Causes accident resulting in death or serious physical injury
- Alcohol level of .18 or more within 2 hours after operating
- Refusal to submit to testing
- Transporting passengers under 12 years of age