In Georgia as part of their graduated licensing process you first must obtain a learner's permit. With the learner's permit comes certain conditions and restrictions, one being that when driving, there must be a licensed driver, at least 21 years old, in the front seat with permit holder at all times.
A few other conditions of obtaining an instructional driving permit in Georgia include:
- You must be at least 15 years of age.
- You will be required to pass an eye and knowledge test.
- A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if you are enrolled in an approved home school program.
After the permit comes a driver's license. A valid learner's license must be held for one year and one day from its issuance. It must be surrendered at the time of testing for your first full driver's license. Starting on January 1, 2007 Joshua's law went into effect which now means to get a Class D driver's license at age sixteen (16):
- You must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services and
- You also must have completed a cumulative total of at least forty (40) hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six (6) hours at night.
If you have not completed an approved driver's education course, you cannot get your Class D driver's license until you reach age seventeen (17).
We did not find a restriction from the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) that prohibited a driver with learner's permit from having other passengers in his or her car (other than the required front passenger) but to be certain check with the DDS directly.