When the question was asked Texas law requires minimum coverage of $20,000 per injured person, up to a total of $40,000 for everyone hurt in an accident, and $15,000 for property damage. This basic coverage is called 20/40/15 coverage. The minimum liability coverages for Texas auto insurance policies increased to 25/50/25 as of April 1, 2008. So now the state's financial responsibility law requires one to have $25,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage.
There are severe legal penalties for violating the state's financial responsibility laws. A first conviction will result in a fine between $175 and $350. Subsequent convictions could result in fines of $350 to $1,000, suspension of your driver's license, and impoundment of your automobile.
TX Transportation Code (chapter 601) contains the Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act where you can look for more information about the penalties for driving without insurance and for being in an accident as an uninsured motorist.
The Texas Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) requires the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges based on certain traffic offenses. This program does not replace other administrative suspension, or revocation actions that result from these same convictions. The surcharges assessed for this program are in addition to other reinstatement fees required for other administrative actions.
The annual surcharge is $250.00 per year and is assessed on the license of each person who during the preceding 36-month period was convicted of driving while license invalid, failing to maintain financial responsibility, or operating a vehicle that has had its registration suspended.
If you received a citation for failing to maintain financial responsibility (FTMFR), commonly referred to as "no insurance" and you did have insurance or some other form of financial responsibility on the date and time that you received the ticket, you need to bring your proof to the court to have the violation dismissed.
If you have received a citation for driving without insurance in Texas check with the courts and the DPS to find out what your specific penalties will be.