Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

What is the penalty in Maine for illegal attachment of vehicle license plates?


A

In Maine illegal attachment of plates is in violation of 29-A M.R.S.A. 2104. Here it states that a person commits a Class E crime if that person attaches to a vehicle a registration plate assigned to another vehicle or not currently assigned to that vehicle. This is a strict liability crime.

A Class E crime in ME can allow you to be arrested and go before a district court judge. The maximum term for being found guilty of a Class E offense is 6 months and a maximum fine of $1000.

If you have been cited for illegal attachment of vehicle license plates then call the court listed on the ticket to find out more about the penalties you may be facing.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
0 Responses to "What is the penalty in Maine for illegal attachment of vehicle license plates?"