Kentucky requires all motorists to carry liability coverage in the amounts of 25/50/10. These numbers stand for $25,000 total for bodily injury per person, $50,000 total for bodily injury coverage per accident and $10,000 total for property damage per accident
The penalties for driving without insurance in KY can be quite harsh. For a first offense you are cited to go to court and can be fined between $500 and $1000 or be imprisoned for not more than 90 days or both.
Furthermore your Kentucky motor vehicle registration and license plates can be suspended for one year or until proof of insurance is provided. You also could lose your license for up to a year. The penalties increase for each subsequent violation of not having proof of auto insurance.
For more information try contacting the KY Transportation Cabinet or if you were cited for this offense you can contact the court listed on the ticket.
To obtain at least the minimum state required auto insurance in Kentucky follow this link.