Yes, it is illegal in the state of Florida to drive a car that is uninsured. If a cop stops you in Florida and finds out that you are driving without insurance you can be cited, it does not matter that you were not involved in an accident since car insurance is required for a registered vehicle in FL and to be on the roadway.
According to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles they are authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle tag and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.
A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations, must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance to reinstate your license after a suspension due to being an uninsured motorist. The penalties increase if you are in an accident that causes property and/or bodily injuries to others. Between October 1, 2007 and January 31, 2007 the state can't enforce this requirement and fee.
If you are currently driving without insurance in Florida it would advisable to get at least the state required property damage and PIP coverage on your vehicle as soon as possible so that you are not caught by the HSMV for a lapse in coverage or cited by law enforcement for being on the road as an uninsured motorist.
Follow this link for a Florida auto insurance quote.