Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

For a first time offender, how long does a DUI stay on your record in the state of Alabama?


A

According to the Alabama Driver's Manual any conviction which resulted from a charge that involved the drinking of alcoholic beverages and the driving of a motor vehicle but did not require mandatory revocation of the driver license is worth 6 points on your driving record. Here it also states that after a traffic conviction is 2 years old, it loses its point count for suspension purposes but remains on a driver's record.

It does not state anywhere that violation are taken off your driving record after any certain time. To find out more about how long a DUI, or other traffic offense, will stay on your driving record check with the AL Department of Public Safety (DPS).

As for penalties for a DUI they can include monetary fines and imprisonment. The penalty for a first conviction is a fine of $600 to $2,100, up to one year in jail or by both fine and imprisonment. In addition, the driver license will be suspended for 90 days.

For a second conviction in five years the fine ranges from $1,100 to $5,100, a jail sentence of up to one year, or both fine and imprisonment. A mandatory 48 hours jail or 20 days community service and one-year revocation of driver license is required after a second conviction.

For a third conviction, the fine ranges from $2,100 to $10,100, and the driver license will be revoked for three years. In addition to the fine, the offender may be sentenced up to one year with a mandatory minimum sentence of 60 days in jail, which may not be probated or suspended.

A fourth conviction or subsequent conviction is a Class C felony. Fines range from $4,100 to $10,100, with a five-year revocation of driver license. Additionally, the offender may be imprisoned for not less than one year and one day or more than 10 years.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "For a first time offender, how long does a DUI stay on your record in the state of Alabama?"