New Jersey like many states have a graduated licensing system. The first step is the learner's permit. With the learner's permit the driver must observe the following restrictions during the supervised driving period:
- No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- You must be accompanied by an Adult Supervising Driver (at least 21 years old and licensed to drive for at least 3 years) in the front seat
- Passengers must be from your household. Only one additional person from outside your household is allowed
- You can't use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hand held electronic device
- Seat belts must be worn at all times
The NJ driver's manual states that holders of GDL Permits or Provisional licenses may receive a $100 fine for violating any GDL conditions. There likely will be other penalties such as a delay in you moving up to the provisional license but you will need to contact the court listed on your citation or the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to find out the exact penalties for driving alone, without the required accompanying adult to supervise your driving abilities.