From our research we found that Georgia Code 40-8-73.1 is the part of GA law that makes certain window tinting a violation. Here it states that no person shall install any material upon the windshields or windows of any motor vehicle, the installation of which would result in a reduction of light transmission or an increase in light reflectance. It then goes on to state more specific information. The penalty of breaking this section of the Georgia Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
So by GA law it is illegal for window tinting material to be applied to the rear, side and door windows of motor vehicles that does not allow for more than 32 percent of light transmission. Material or glazing that increases the level of light reflected to more than 20 percent is also illegal.
The penalty we have seen listed in many places for this misdemeanor traffic violation is a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 12 months in prison. To find out what the typical fine and/or term of imprisonment that is given for a first, second and subsequent offenses contact the GA DDS or a county court that handles this type of violation.
Whether this type of equipment violation will affect your rates will depend upon your insurance company's rating system. Some insurance companies would not find window tinting to be a risk factor while others might. To get specific information on your insurance provider's rating system contact your insurance agent.
If you have been cited for a window tint violation in Georgia and your insurance premiums do rise, come to us for an affordable car insurance quote.