In Florida a person may not drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless such person has a valid driver's license. This Florida law concerning this is under 322.03 of the FL state statutes.
Other sections within section 322 of the FL statutes discuss the laws regarding driver's license and penalties associated with breaking them. Statute 322.34 concerns driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified, etc.
Part 2 of this states that any person whose driver's license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked as provided by law, who knowing of such cancellation, suspension, or revocation, drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while such license or privilege is canceled, suspended, or revoked, upon a first conviction is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree.
This penalty for a misdemeanor is defined as either a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days and/or $500 fine, when the conviction is of a misdemeanor of the second degree or a non-criminal violation.
Part 6 of statute 322.34 notes that any person who operates a motor vehicle without having a driver's license is guilty of a felony of the third degree. The penalty for a felony of the third degree is either a term of imprisonment not exceeding 5 years and/or $5,000.
For more information on what the penalties are for being cited for driving without a license in Florida you can read through the Florida Statutes or contact the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV).