According to the New Hampshire Department of Safety an SR-22 is a certificate of "proof of liability insurance" which must be submitted by an insurance company licensed to do business in New Hampshire. The insurance is for liability.
New Hampshire DMV requires the certificate be either for Owner or Non Owner. If an Owner SR-22 is submitted it must NOT list your vehicles but state, "Any Vehicles Owned by the Insured." If a Non-Owner, it must state, "Any Vehicles Driven by the Insured." An SR-22 is valid until cancelled by use of an SR-26 certificate.
According to the NH Division of Motor Vehicles the SR-22 is required for
- 3 years from the date of conviction/crash or from the date imposed by a hearings examiner.
- If convicted of a Driving While Intoxicated Second Offense, 5 years from the date of conviction.
- If convicted of a major offense in the time frame required to carry an SR-22 insurance certificate, the requirement will be extended for 3 years from the date of the major conviction.
The SR-22 is a form that confirms you are complying with the financial responsibility laws of New Hampshire. It is usually required in instances where you have had an accident with no liability coverage or as a result of a serious violation. The form must be filed with the DMV by your present insurance company. If the policy is ever canceled on non-renewed, the company must notify the DMV.
Since the New Hampshire SR-22 is a certificate of proof of liability insurance and the minimum limits available for liability coverage are 25/50/25, you must have at least these coverages in order to file the SR22. These limits stand for $25,000 of Bodily Injury Liability coverage per injured person up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a limit of $25,000.
For more information on financial responsibility requirements contact the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles at 603-271-3101.