The fine or related penalties for driving without a required inspection sticker on your vehicle will vary depending upon your specific state's laws.
For example all vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection and an emissions inspection every 12 months. Both inspections are also required when the ownership of a vehicle is transferred. Both inspections are done at the same time by a DMV-certified inspector at privately-owned inspection stations licensed by DMV.
If the inspection sticker on a NYS vehicle has expired in the past 60 days, the owner can receive a fine of $25 to $50. If the inspection sticker is expired more than 60 days, the fine is between $50 and $100. If there is no inspection sticker, the fine is between $50 and $100. Mandatory state surcharges of up to $55 are added to the fine.
In NYS you can also receive a parking ticket for not having the required inspection sticker on your car. The NYS DMV notes specifically that a parked vehicle with no inspection sticker, or with an expired inspection sticker, can receive a parking ticket.
In North Carolina if a vehicle fails to pass a Safety/OBD Inspection within four months of the expiration of the existing inspection sticker, the vehicle owner will receive a $250.00 civil penalty and be unable to renew the registration until the vehicle passes a Safety/OBD (On-Board Diagnostic) emission inspection.
Also in NC if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer, you are subject to be cited with a traffic ticket any time you are driving the vehicle with an expired sticker. The owner could be fined up to $250.00, and not be allowed to renew the registration until the vehicle passes the OBD emissions test.
To find out what your states fines and penalties would be for driving without an inspection sticker or an expired inspection check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles.