Question: What is the penalty of driving on an expired license in New Jersey?
Answer: It is our understanding that driving with an expired license in New Jersey is counted the same as driving as an unlicensed driver. You are violating New Jersey Statutes 39:3-10, which requires you to have a valid license in order to operate a vehicle in New Jersey.
This statute comes with penalties of fines up to $500 and jail time. However, the fine schedule we found on the New Jersey courts online site lists the penalty for being cited with an New Jersey expired license as a $54 fine if the person was able to provide proof that they had were able to renew their license and thus had a full valid license to show to the court.
In New Jersey driving without a valid license is also a surchargeable offense. Surcharges handed down by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) are in addition to any court fines/penalties. According to the MVC, it is a $100 surcharge for driving without a license.
If you were cited for driving with an expired license in New Jersey, then you should call the court or traffic violations bureau listed on the citation to find out what your penalty will be and if you can get the ticket reduced if you are able to renew your license with the MVC before the court date or due date of the ticket.
A ticket for an expired license on it's own may not affect your car insurance rates, or affect your car insurance discounts, but it could if you don't correct the issue and obtain a valid license in a reasonable amount of time. Some policies can deny coverage if you aren't holding a valid driver's license.