In California a new law took effect on January 1, 2007 regarding a CA driving record and how long a DUI offense is listed on it. This new legislation extends the reporting period for DUI offenses from 7 to 10 years for all public requestors, including insurance companies.
Also based on the new California laws, drivers with a DUI violation occurring within the past 10 years are not entitled to receive a good driver discount.
The CA Department of Motor Vehicles states that even if a DUI was previously taken off of your record (due to the previous time period of 7 years) that it will now appear back on your driving record and will remain there until 10 years from the violation date. So for instance if you received a DUI in June 1999 and it was previously taken off your record after 7 years it will now show back up on your driving record and remain there until June 2009.
The CA DMV also notes that most violations designated as two points will be reported for 10 years from the violation date. All other convictions of traffic violations will be reported for 3 years from violation date. Again this is violation date and not the date of the conviction.
The exceptions are violations occurring in a commercial vehicle, which are the basis for an action under Vehicle Code (VC) 15300a, 15300b, 15302, 15304, and 15306, which will be reported for 55 years from the conviction date.