If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must have Florida insurance. Thus all registered cars in Florida require Florida auto insurance.
Florida's minimum auto insurance coverage of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) is required as long as you have a valid Florida tag, even if the vehicle is in another state or inoperative. There are no exemptions in the law according to the FL HSMV; insurance coverage must be maintained throughout the entire vehicle registration period.
In Florida your license is suspended if you are found to have a lapse in the required auto insurance coverages. To get exact steps on how to get your FL driver's license reinstated you should contact the Highway Department of Motor Vehicles (HSMV). The HSMV website may give you the information you seek or you can call the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Customer Service Center, at 850-922-9000.
We can inform you that to get your license reinstated you will need to pay a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations, and provide proof of current Florida insurance. Any cars registered to you will need to be included on your insurance policy.
The process is usually as simple as showing proof of coverage, paying any outstanding fines and receiving your reinstated license.