In Texas your license can be suspended for a variety of reasons including:
- If a person refuses or fails a blood or breath test following an arrest for driving while intoxicated, the person may receive a license suspension of 90 days up to 2 years. If the driver holds a Commercial Driver License, a breath test refusal or failure will result in an automatic one year disqualification.
- A person's license is automatically suspended upon final conviction of a drug offense (which does NOT have to occur while operating a motor vehicle). The suspension period is 180 days. In addition, a drug education program is automatically required and must be completed within the 180-day suspension period or the license remains suspended until such time as a certificate of completion is received by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).
- If a person is convicted of a second offense for no-liability insurance, the person is subject to license suspension.
- When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives notice that a person has been involved in a crash that occurred on a public street or highway, which resulted in injury, death or property damages of at least $1,000.00, the uninsured driver is subject to license suspension.
- Texas habitual traffic violations - A person who receives four (4) or more moving violations in a period of 12 months, or seven (7) or more moving violations in a period of 24 months, is subject to having their license suspended. A provisional driver (under 18 years of age) who receives two (2) or less than four (4) moving violations in a period of 12 months, is subject to having their license suspended.
This last reason for suspension appears to be the one you want to know how long the suspension can last for. This type of suspension is described in Texas Transportation Code 521.292 which is titled Department's Determination for License Suspension.
Here is subsection (a) it states that the department [TX Department of Public Safety] shall suspend the person's license if the department determines that the person:
(1) has operated a motor vehicle on a highway while the person's license was suspended, canceled, disqualified, or revoked, or without a license after an application for a license was denied;
(2) is a habitually reckless or negligent operator of a motor vehicle;
(3) is a habitual violator of the traffic laws...
Section 521.293 of the Transportation code is titled Period of Suspension under section 521.292. Here it notes that if the person does not request a hearing, the period of license suspension under Section 521.292 is 90 days.
TX Administrative Code 15.82 also discusses a person's Texas driver's license being suspended. Here it states (a) Notice of the department's determination of suspension, disqualification or revocation will be mailed to the licensee's mailing address or address of record by first class mail.
(b) The notification will include the statutory grounds for the department's action, effective dates of the suspension, disqualification, or revocation, the persons right to a hearing, how to request the hearing, and the time period in which the person can request the hearing.
(c) The notice of suspension, revocation or disqualification shall be mailed by the department on the date of the notice. It is presumed received five days after that date.
(d) If the licensee does not request a hearing or a judge affirms the department's action, the department will mail to the licensee's mailing address or address of record an order of suspension, revocation or disqualification. The order will contain the dates of the suspension, disqualification, or the start date of a revocation, and it will also provide all necessary information for the reinstatement of the license.
So it appears if you are found to be a habitual traffic offender that your license will be suspended for 90 days. If your license is to be suspended for this, or another reason in Texas, the DPS should mail you a notice of suspension which informs you of the length of your driver's license suspension.