Driving without registration in New York State is a violation of NY Vehicle and Traffic Code section 401. If you cannot provide valid vehicle registration, the police can issue a ticket for an unregistered vehicle.
Subsection 1 of NYS VAT section 401 states that no motor vehicle shall be operated or driven upon the public highways of this state without first being registered.
Subsection 18 discusses the penalties for driving without registration. Here it states that a violation of subdivision one of this section shall be punishable by a fine of not less than seventy-five nor more than three hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for not more than fifteen days, or by both such fine and imprisonment except, if the violation consists of failure to renew a registration which was valid within sixty days, the fine shall be not less than forty dollars.
So to simplify this legal talk it means that the penalties for a violation driving without proper registration on a vehicle in New York can be punishable by a fine of not less than $75 nor more than $300 or by imprisonment for not more than 15 days or both. If the violation consists of failure to renew a registration which was valid within 60 days, the fine shall be not less than $40.
The NYS DMV will be able to give you more information or if you were cited for this offense the clerk of the court should be able to give you more information on penalties and if they are different due to your car being from out of state.
If you have recently moved to New York you should register, plate and insure your vehicle there. To get started with auto insurance quotes online for NYS, click here.