Missouri's Department of Revenue which has the MO driver's guide online notes that one penalty for driving on a suspended license. Here it notes that if you drive while your license is suspended, your driving privilege may be revoked for one year after conviction. If you continue to drive while your license is revoked, you may be convicted of a felony and have your license revoked again for one year.
Missouri Revised Statute 302.321 is titled Driving while license or driving privilege is canceled, suspended or revoked, penalty--enhanced penalty for repeat offenders--imprisonment, mandatory, exception.
The wording of this statute is as follows:
1. A person commits the crime of driving while revoked if such person operates a motor vehicle on a highway when such person's license or driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked under the laws of this state or any other state and acts with criminal negligence with respect to knowledge of the fact that such person's driving privilege has been canceled, suspended, or revoked.
2. Any person convicted of driving while revoked is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. Any person with no prior alcohol-related enforcement contacts as defined in section 302.525, convicted a fourth or subsequent time of driving while revoked or a county or municipal ordinance of driving while suspended or revoked where the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing, and where the prior three driving-while-revoked offenses occurred within ten years of the date of occurrence of the present offense; and any person with a prior alcohol-related enforcement contact as defined in section 302.525, convicted a third or subsequent time of driving while revoked or a county or municipal ordinance of driving while suspended or revoked where the defendant was represented by or waived the right to an attorney in writing, and where the prior two driving-while-revoked offenses occurred within ten years of the date of occurrence of the present offense and where the person received and served a sentence of ten days or more on such previous offenses is guilty of a class D felony. No court shall suspend the imposition of sentence as to such a person nor sentence such person to pay a fine in lieu of a term of imprisonment, nor shall such person be eligible for parole or probation until such person has served a minimum of forty-eight consecutive hours of imprisonment, unless as a condition of such parole or probation, such person performs at least ten days involving at least forty hours of community service under the supervision of the court in those jurisdictions which have a recognized program for community service. Driving while revoked is a class D felony on the second or subsequent conviction pursuant to section 577.010, RSMO, or a fourth or subsequent conviction for any other offense.
A class A misdemeanor in Missouri comes with a maximum penalty of up to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $1000.
As you can tell Missouri has serious penalties for those that are found driving on a suspended license. If you cannot get your driver driving privilege back, but you need to drive for employment or other important matters, you should try applying for a Missouri Limited Driving Privilege (LDP). The MO DOR states you may get such privileges unless you have certain convictions or losses of driving privilege on your driving record. Some convictions or loss of driving privilege are so serious that an LDP may not be granted so check with the DOR to see if you can get the LDP is you currently have your license suspended. Visit our state page to find our more about Missouri car insurance and state laws.